EA Board of Directors Report September 21, 2024 Deloris Rome Hudson - OEA Director

1. Seated the following alternates at this meeting: Mark Brugger representing Central-7, Andrew Smith representing NEOEA-1, Melanie Hameed representing NEOEA-4, Sue Messinger representing NEOEA-5, Suzie Neff representing NEOEA-8, Jen Long representing NWOEA-2, Stephanie Taylor representing SEOEA-1, Mindy Campbell representing WOEA-1, and Kyndal Mickel representing OEA-AE.

2. Approved the President's recommendations:

- Accepted the resignation of Audrey Sargus from the OEA Board of Directors OEA-AE position, effective September 4, 2024, with an unexpired term ending July 14, 2025.
- The appointment of the following individuals to the 2024-2025 OEA RA Steering Committee: Bonita Gauss-Chairperson, Jason Scherer-Vice Chairperson, Brenda Ames, Paige Harding, Megan Hinz, Michelle Martin Jones, Arthur Lard, Dwayne Marshall, Neil Ritchie, Alice Sneed, Amy White.
- The appointment of the following to the OEA Special Education Workgroup: Amber Clark-Chairperson, Robin Bushmeyer, Matthew Clark, Lora Conrad, Jason Frient, Melissa Heydinger, Johnita Hughes, Melinda Hunley, Patricia Kuhn-Morgan, Kelli McLaughlin, Po Reffitt, Andrea Schumacher, Erin Stevens, Jovita Wade, Mary Binegar-Consultant, Jené Wilson-Consultant, Michelle Martin Jones-Board Liaison, Kathryn McAbee-Alternate, Samantha Teter-Alternate.
- The appointment of the following to the OEA Audit Committee: John Paydo-Chairperson, Karen Baumann, Valerie Heban, Arthur Lard, Allison Shape, Renee Spiker.
- The appointment of Shelley Collet, representing NWOEA, effective immediately, to the Collective Bargaining and Member Advocacy Standing Committee, with a term ending July 14, 2027.
- Accepted the resignation, effective immediately, of the following from the Convention Planning Committee:
 - Kathy Abrahamson, representing OAESP, leaving a vacancy with an unexpired term ending July 14, 2027.
 - Kara Butlien-Cohen, representing WC, leaving a vacancy with an unexpired term ending July 14, 2026.
 - Clarence Daniels, Jr., representing WC, effective immediately, to the Convention Planning Standing Committee, with a term ending July 14, 2026.
- Accepted the resignation of Darine Rees, representing SWOEA, effective immediately, from the Human & Civil Rights Standing Committee, leaving a vacancy with an unexpired term ending July 14, 2025.
- The appointment of the following to the Human & Civil Rights Standing Committee:
 - Stephanie Nelson, representing SWOEA, effective immediately, with a term ending July 14, 2025.
 - Amanda Fehlbaum, representing Higher Ed., effective immediately, with a term ending July 14, 2027.
- Accepted the resignation of Julie Phares, representing NEOEA, effective immediately, from the Legislative Standing Committee, leaving a vacancy with an unexpired term ending July 14, 2026.
- The appointment of the following to the Legislative Standing Committee:
 - Andrew Smith, representing NEOEA, effective immediately, with a term ending July 14, 2026.
 - Ron Fannin, representing RC, effective immediately, with a term ending July 14, 2026.
- The appointment of Dawn Naylor, representing SEOEA, effective immediately, to the Local Development & Training Standing Committee, with a term ending July 14, 2027.
- Accepted the resignation of the following, from the Organizing Strategy Standing Committee:
 - Adrienne Bowden, effective immediately, with an unexpired term ending July 14, 2025.
 - Nancy Gdovin, representing OAESP, effective immediately, leaving a vacancy with an unexpired term ending July 14, 2025.
- The appointment of Justin Muir, representing NWOEA, effective immediately, to the Organizing Strategy Standing Committee, with a term ending July 14, 2027.

- Accepted the resignation of Casey Boehm, representing Central OEA/NEA, effective immediately, from the Professional Efficacy Standing Committee, leaving an unexpired term ending July 14, 2026.
- Accepted the resignation of the following, from the Resolutions Standing Committee:
 - Ellen Giovinazzo, representing WC, effective immediately, leaving a vacancy with an unexpired term ending July 14, 2025.
 - Emily McIntire, representing EOEA, effective immediately, leaving a vacancy with an unexpired term ending July 14, 2026.
- 3. Accepted the financial reports for July 31, 2024.
- 4. Established the 2024-2025 rate of internet reimbursement at a maximum of \$50 per month for OEA Board Members.
- 5. Set the 2024-2025 Out-of-State Training Allowance for At-Large and Unit Board Members at \$1,750.00.
- 6. Upheld a denial of legal services.

Asks:

- 1. Share information about the OEA Affiliate Grant Program that can be used to help build strong and effective locals. The One-Year Special Project Grant is available this year—more information and the application can be found by clicking here.
- Encourage locals to hold delegate elections for the OEA Representative Assembly. (Local elections for OEA RA delegates must be held by October 10 with results reported back to OEA by October 15—local presidents can contact William Baird at oeara@ohea.org if they have local delegate election questions.)

<u>Takeaways:</u> `

- 1. Čampaign 2024 We need all hands-on deck related to voting "YES" on Issue 1 and supporting pro-public education candidates this fall. Members can visit https://ballot.ohea.org to find the OEA endorsed candidates/Champions of Public Education in their area. Also, related to the election, please note the following dates for upcoming Issue 1 Urgent Member Meetings, all beginning at 6:30 p.m.:
 - \circ October 8 Cleveland
 - October 15 Cincinnati (NEA VP Princess Moss will be there with us)
 - October 22 Dayton
 - October 24 Columbus (details TBD)

We also wanted to share this GoFundMe link to help support Switzerland of OEA member Krista Bommer and her family who recently lost their home in a fire.