OEA Board of Directors Report March 16, 2024 Deloris Rome Hudson - OEA Director

Seated the following alternate at this meeting: Juliann Doerschuk representing ECOEA-2.

- 1. Approved the President's recommendations:
 - Affirmed the appointment of Matthew White as the SWOEA-3 representative to the OEA Board of Directors, effective immediately, until an election is held at the next SWOEA District Representative Assembly.
 - Approved the appointment of the following individuals to the Orientation Committee for new Board members: Carol Nance – Chair, Kelly Duwve, Denise Hermetz, Tammy LaPlante, Arthur Lard.
- 2. Accepted the financial reports for January 31, 2024.
- 3. Tentatively approved the 2024-2026 two-year Strategic Budget and directed that it be made available for District RAs.
- 4. Approved the creation of a workgroup to study OEA's ESP dues structure.
- 5. Approved the affiliation of the River View Education Association Paraprofessionals.
- 6. Amended the following Board of Directors Policies:
 - Policy 910.060 Refund
 - Policy 320.200 LGBTQ+ Issues Advisory Council
- 7. Voted to reinstate the Doris L. Allen Minority Caucus.
- 8. Voted to support the following proposals on the ballot of the 2024 Spring Representative Assembly:
 - Proposal 1 to amend OEA Constitution Article V, Section 10 to allow the Board of Directors to address matters that arise immediately before or after a meeting or event via telephone, email, or text message.
 - Proposal 2 to amend OEA Bylaw 8-3 to replace the specific names of recognized caucuses with a general reference to each recognized OEA caucus.
 - Proposal 3 to amend OEA Constitution Article VI, Section 2, and 2-1 to update qualifications for elected officers to include full-time service as being "actively employed and engaged in the education profession."
 - Proposal 4 to amend OEA Constitution Article X, Section 2 to change the voting requirement for constitutional amendments from a three-fourths vote to a two-thirds vote of delegates.
- 9. Approved the following OEA award and scholarship recipients:
 - Education Support Professional of the Year Cheryl Williams, Dublin Support Association
 - Friend of Education Ohio Organizing Collaborative
 - Media Award for Public Service Morgan Trau, News 5 Cleveland (WEWS)
 - o Blue Ribbon Association Award Hilliard Education Association
 - ESP Aspiring Teacher Scholarship Alexander Doherty, Columbus Education Association
 - o Jean Kershaw Scholarship Lauren Bartlett, OEA-AE Ashland University
 - o John F. Kennedy Scholarship Jared Swingle, Bethel-Tate Teachers Association
 - Marilyn Cross Scholarship Doreen Evans, Lorain Education Association
- 10. Endorsed Sandy Smith Fisher for the active member seat on the STRS Board of Directors.
- 11. Ratified the 2024-2025 Master Contract between OEA and the Ohio Associate Staff Union.
- 12. Transmitted the following to the 2024 Spring Representative Assembly: proposed 2024-2025
- Resolutions Report and the March 2024 Affirmative Action Status Report.

<u>Takeaways:</u>

- 1. **OEA Standing Committees:** Member led committees worked on issues of concern to OEA members and made recommendations to the OEA Board on addressing items such as: DEI training, social and emotional wellbeing, paid member-activists, student behavior and member safety, and member political advocates.
- 2024 OEA Spring RA: The packet of information OEA Board members received regarding the upcoming 2024 OEA Spring RA should be used to share information with delegates and members.
 as:
- Asks:

1. STRS Board Election: The OEA Board voted to endorse Sandy Smith Fischer for the active

member seat on the STRS Board—please vote for her and encourage others to vote for her. **Citizens Not Politicians Ballot Initiative:** Sign and circulate a petition(s) to help qualify the Citizens Not Politicians initiative for the ballot this November.

A link to the OEA Fund Catalog that can be used for donating to the OEA Fund this spring is here: www.oeafund.org.