NEA-R DELEGATE REPORT

It was a honor and a privilege to represent WOEA-R and the OEA-R Team at the National Education Association.

Your elected delegates were President Mary Binegar, Jeff Corbin, Kathleen Purdy, Willie A. Terrell, Jr., Deloris Rome Hudson and Gretchen Washington.

The OEA-R Team number one goal was to get Kathleen Purdy re elected to the NEA Resolution Committee. Team Kathleen was successful. Kathleen received the second most points.

2023 Election Results

The newly elected leaders for NEA-Retired are:

- President, 3 year term: Anita Gibson, AL
- Retired Executive Council, 3 year terms: JoAnn Smith Mashburn, TN; and Tom Wellman, NV
- Retired Members for the NEA Board of Directors, 3 year terms: Judy Rohde, MN; and Julie Rivera Horwin, AZ
- Retired Board of Directors Alternates, 3 year terms: John Heineman, NE; and Doris Marie Glover, GA
- NEA Resolutions Committee, 1 year terms: George Sheridan, CA; Kathleen Purdy, OH; Sandra Hatley, NC; Bobby J. Pierson, AL; Karen Solheim, GA; and Ira LaVerne Reed, NC

A sincere "thank you" to all of the Retired members who ran for office this year.

Proposed Bylaw Amendments Adopted

All seven 2023 proposed Retired Bylaws amendments were adopted. The first three amendments addressed the issue of how to count terms of service when replacing a Retired Officer or a member of the Retired Executive Council who resigns in the middle of their elected term. Proposed Bylaw amendments four through six codify items that are required in NEA's governing documents: numbers four and six refer to the NEA process of election of ethnic-minority representation on the NEA Board of Directors and Resolutions if no ethnic-minority is elected as a Retired member on either, and proposed bylaw five codifies that Resolutions Committee members are elected for one-year terms, for a maximum of six years.

'Retired delegates voted on the proposed Bylaw amendments by secret ballot on June 30. The voting results can be seen on below.

Our Leaders & Governance

NEA-Retired is governed by a nine-member Executive Council, elected by NEA-Retired members. NEA-Retired members serve on various committees within NEA and meet annually in June to conduct business of the organization.

NEA Election 2023

ORLANDO, Fla.—Becky Pringle, a science teacher from Philadelphia with more than 33 years of classroom experience, was reelected today to continue leading America's educators as president of the 3 million-member National Education Association (NEA), America's largest labor union. Before becoming the president of NEA in 2020, Pringle previously served two three-year terms as NEA vice president and two as secretary-treasurer. She is known as a fierce social justice warrior, staunch defender of educators' rights, and an unrelenting advocate for all students and communities of color.

Delegates also reelected Princess Moss, an elementary music teacher from Louisa County, Va., as NEA vice president. A champion of children and public education at the local, state, and national levels, Moss distinguished herself for six years as NEA secretary-treasurer before assuming the vice presidency in 2020. Previously, she also served two terms on the NEA Executive Committee, where she participated in the Elementary and Secondary Education (ESEA) Advisory Committee, steering the association's strategy for the law's pending reauthorization, and the Dropout Prevention Advisory Committee, helping develop relevant tools for NEA members.

Additionally, Texas educator Noel Candelaria was reelected NEA secretary-treasurer. Prior to his role as secretary-treasurer, Candelaria served as president and vice president of the NEA-affiliated Texas State Teachers Association. He has held leadership positions at the National Council of State Education Associations and served on numerous national committees and task forces, including the NEA Human and Civil Rights Committee.

In addition to reelecting the three leaders, the RA delegates also voted to elect two members to the NEA Executive Committee, which is comprised of three executive officers and six members elected at large by RA delegates. Delegates voted to reelect to a second three-year term Mark Jewell, an elementary school teacher from Guilford County, North Carolina, and the former president of the North Carolina Association of Educators. Shannon McCann, a middle school special education teacher and current president of the Federal Way Education Association in Washington State, was also elected to a first term on the executive committee. Previously, McCann served as chair of NEA's Legislative Committee and was twice elected to our NEA Strategic Plan and

Budget Committee Pringle, Moss, Candelaria and the new executive members will assume their new duties on September 1, 2023.

A FEW HIGHLIGHTS

President Joe Biden addressed the RA via sat light

84.30% OF RA DELEGATES VOTE TO ENDORSE JOE BIDEN FOR RE-ELECTION FOR 2024

ESP OF THE YEAR Pam Johnson

NATIONAL TEACHER OF THE YEAR Rebecka Peterson

NEA PRESIDENT'S AWARD President and CEO of the NAACP Derrick Johnson

There were 94 New Business Items, Amendments to the Policy Statements, Resolutions and Legislative Amendments discussed and reviewed

If you wish more specific information, please email me with that request que1699.com

I can email you the final copy of the RA Today for more information.

Again, thank you for electing me as your voice at the 2023 Nation Education Association Meeting.